Go To Search
Civil Service Commission
All commissioners are currently serving the following terms:
  • Earle Maiman     - January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2022
  • David Sams        - January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2022
  • Jeff Schare         - January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2023

The Civil Service Commission of Madeira consists of three (3) electors of the municipality, who serve for a six (6) year staggered term. One (1) member is appointed by the Board of Education of the Madeira School District, and two (2) members are appointed by City Council. No members of this Commission are allowed to hold any office or employment with the City.

The Civil Service Commission provides for the ascertainment of merit and fitness as the basis for appointment and promotion in the service of the municipality as required by the Constitution of Ohio.  The Commission also performs other such duties as may be imposed upon it by the charter and ordinances of the City of Madeira. The Civil Service Commission also serves as the Commission for the Madeira School District in accordance with Section 124.011 of the Ohio Revised Code. The Commission has the power to subpoena witnesses and require production of records.